Durant is governed by a council-manager form of municipal government. The city manager is the administrative leader of the government and is appointed by the city council. The city's ceremonial head is the mayor, who is a voting member of the council with limited administrative power.

The current city manager is Tim Rundel. The council is composed of 5 members from the City of Durant. The Mayor and Vice-Mayor are chosen by members of the Council. During the May 2017 Council meeting Jerry Tomlinson was elected Mayor by the council and Chad Hitchcock remains Vice Mayor. The city is divided into four wards with 1 member of the city council from each ward. There is also one at-large city council member which can be from any ward in the City.